Our Devoted Things | Jay Fesperman (3/3)

Now is the time for each of us to take a look at those things we don’t want to give up. While I was into an extended fast to begin this year, I really thought the Lord was going to give some vitally important answers to many questions I had laid before Him, but essentially, all I got from Him was a forward phrase, “GET BACK TO JESUS!” I found I was seeking to coerce the Lord into dealing with things I thought needed His and my attention, but He made it clear to me that my need was to get away from all MY needs and get back into the purity of fellowship with Him. God wants us to get down to business with Him and turn our devotion towards Him and His plan! Let’s take a look at some of the DEVOTED THINGS that are hindering our FULL fruitfulness in and from the Body of Christ. Let’s make it personal!

PERSONAL DISCIPLINE. This covers a big field, but it’s probably the most damaging thing in our tent. Laziness! “I want to set my own schedule;” or “I’m gonna wait till the Spirit moves me.” How about “I’m studying” while everybody else is “working with their hands”. Sloppy dress or disaster areas for your room. “That’s mom’s business; she’ll do it.” Or personal care of the body – your body. “I’ll eat what I want, when I want.” Exercise?? “That’s for the athletic world. I’m learning to be spiritual.” And so forth.

Paul gives a very clear warning about another DEVOTED THING in Colossians 2:8 – Standing in faith against HUMAN TRADITION and PRINCIPLES OF THE WORLD. Paul says they are hollow and deceptive, but if we don’t put them out of ourselves, we will be DECEIVED and hollow. They can become real and life controlling, if we don’t get them out of the tent.

Rebellion against Authority. Just about everyone who reads this letter needs to acknowledge this is in our tent. We don’t like people telling us what to do, do we? I know a real expert in the Body of Christ. He knows how to do everything. . .except how to get along with people. Are you under someone’s oversight who can have input in your life? The warfare is getting strong and ugly. You need a Commander – someone who truly represents Jesus Christ in your life. Most of us don’t like the discipline that we face from a man, but look at the punishment the Lord himself laid on the Israelites; Destruction!

And many, many more! But friends, I don’t know your peculiar problems. If you don’t, God does, and we need to get down to reality. A recent prophetic word came forth for the Body of Christ. Among other things the Lord said, “I have chosen in this day to raise up an army. In the past I have only been harassing the enemy. Now I am ready to unleash in a FRONTAL ASSAULT.”

The major trait of a VICTORIOUS army is DISCIPLINED soldiers. This is 1983, the year of REAL spiritual warfare. . .the battle is joined! So let’s remember, “Get rid of your DEVOTED THINGS, so that you will not ‘bring about your own destruction’, nor will you ‘make the camp of Israel LIABLE TO DESTRUCTION’ and bring disaster on it.” Let’s GET BACK TO JESUS!

-Jay Fesperman

From Jay Fesperman’s “Letters of Exhortation”, Number 28, January/February 1983.

Leave a Reply

