riding in a boat, sleeping on a cushion | jay fesperman (2/3)

Now, let’s look forward a few years and hear the instructions of Paul to Timothy, a young disciple who was being trained for leadership in the church: “Timothy, God did not give you a spirit of fear (timidity), but a spirit of POWER, of LOVE, and of SELF-DISCIPLINE” (emphasis mine). . . . What a combination! And Paul said to TImothy, “Timothy, YOU fan into flame this gift of God! This grace was given us IN Christ. NOW, through His appearing, it is meant to be put to work. Keep this teaching, this pattern of sound teaching which you have heard from me. NOW, it’s yours! Guard it with the help of the Holy Spirit Who lives in us” (paraphrase and emphasis mine). We hear a lot about LOVE and POWER – and we love it! But we don’t hear too much about SELF-DISCIPLINE – and we don’t want to do, do we? But the combination is necessary.

This “Letter of Exhortation” is about POWER, God’s power in US. Frankly, I could wish the three-fold combination that paul speaks of were in reverse order, but it isn’t. Wouldn’t it be better to be self-disciplined before we wield power or love? but we cannot change the order, because the SPIRIT OF POWER (as well as the Spirit of Love) is OF the Holy Spirit and NOT OF US. The Holy Spirit did not come into us and leave POWER for us and then depart! He came into us to express that POWER HIMSELF! And it’s only as we have our SELF disciplined that He will express that power (or that love).

On December 6, 1980, here at [CTCI], a word of prophecy was spoken: “You speak of the POWER that is in My Name. You sing of the POWER that is in My Name. You testify of the POWER that is in My Name. You believe in the POWER that is in My Name. And yet, as you speak My Name, as you praise My Name, you do not see that which I promised in My Word. But I tell you, there will come a time when you will know it! You will simply speak the Name of Jesus and angels will appear. You will see great miracles of healing and deliverance from  lameness and blindness. At this time, you do not see and know that the POWER in My Name, because it is YOU who are weak. But I say to you, ‘BE STRONG’. Speak My Name and I will proclaim the mystery of a POWER in My Name in all the earth! I speak to you personally, that you will know by the appearance of angels, by mighty miracles and deliverances, by the surging of strength within yourself. You will know the POWER in the simple act of SPEAKING My Name!”

From Jay Fesperman’s “Letters of Exhortation”, Number 33, October 1983.

Leave a Reply

