Life Lessons from Living at The Inn

Recently,  in reading Mark Batterson’s book, The Grave Robber, I discovered the term “inattentional blindness” – also known as perceptual blindness. A Wikipedia article regarding  inattentional blindness says “it may be further defined as the event in which an individual fails to recognize an unexpected stimulus that is in plain sight. As I read the definitions, I realized that could illustrate some of the 10+ years that I lived in The Inn.

At the start of all programs at The Inn, the participants are asked, “Do you believe the Lord brought you here for this specific time?” Either prior to arrival or at the opening session, each person must consider that question, and then a commitment is required. There is a valid reason for the question. Once we have stated and settled that issue with The Lord, then come the challenges, the stretching and the growth.

Personally, what I have found is that my attitude can stop, block, or postpone  anything that the Lord wants to do IN me and ultimately through me. In my brief synopsis of my not-so-brief time in The Inn, I probably exhibited some seasons of inattentional blindness. I was looking wrongly at the thing, the event, the situation, the person … whatever … just fill in the blanks! Lord, help me to focus on what YOU want me to see and not miss the daily miracles.

Leave a Reply

