To Be or To Do – That is the Question

A while ago my five-year-old daughter Daniela said to me, “I want to be a doctor when I grow up so I can help people who get hurt. But I’d also like to be a policewoman so I can make people obey the rules.  I want to be a singer and a dancer, too.  I’d like to be a teacher…” After thinking through her ever-growing list, Daniela concluded, “Or I could be a mom and do it all.”  What an insightful little girl!

As a Mom, I definitely wear a lot of different hats, but I have no illusions about being a Supermom morphing into whoever is needed to save the day at any given time. Most days I am acutely aware of my own need for a Savior (and on those days that I’m not so aware, my need is even greater). All too often I find myself racing around trying to fulfill all the expected roles, and neglecting to BE the person God has created me to be. My effectiveness in my role as a mother will flow out of my connectedness to Jesus. As I abide in Him, His life flows into me and through me to those around me – most principally, my family.

When I am too busy doing lots of “good things,” I miss out on opportunities to have real and lasting influence on the precious ones God has placed in my charge for this fleeting season. However, when I am led by the Spirit instead of my “to do” list, I find such great joy in opportunities to pour into the lives of my children.

I want Daniela and David to dream big dreams and do great things, but more than anything, I want them to BE great and faithful lovers of God. When they look at me, I hope they don’t see a mom who can “do it all,” I pray that they see someone who loves God with all her heart, soul, and mind.

One thought on “To Be or To Do – That is the Question”

Leave a Reply

