Life is Like a Box of Chocolates

Greetings, world. I wanted to take some time just to share with you what God has been working in my life. Let me start by explaining why Forrest Gump is my inspiration.

A couple of us were watching Forrest Gump one day, and at the end of the movie I could not get this one quote out of my head: “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you are going to get.” It was so relevant to what I was going through at the time. I had just found God, and I was trying to figure out how to know what God’s will was for me. I felt so lost and confused because I could not discriminate between what was God, and everything else.

This continued to be a problem for me, until one day I came to a conclusion: Either God is not talking, or I am not listening in the right way. I decided at that point to start in a new direction. I would pray not for an answer from God, but just to receive more faith in Him. At that point I started to see things in a new light. God was telling me, “I have given you a path to walk down. It is up to you whether or not to trust me, and take that leap of faith.” That’s why it is so important to know the Word of God. If you do not know who God is, how are supposed to trust Him and follow Him when He lays a path for you?

The next step was quite obvious to me at that point. I had to take a shot in the dark with God. I let go of all the control in my life, and gave it to God. What I soon realized that once you go down this path there is no coming back. He asks something small of you first, and then it just snowballs from there. But when you do let go of control and give it to God, that’s where true peace is found. 

I now have come to realize that the quote “Life is like a box of chocolates. You never know what you are going to get” is an understatement. When you live in the will of God you have no idea what is coming next. Matthew 6:33 says it the best, in my opinion. Just seek God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added (paraphrase).

-Courtesy of John Slinkard (INNsight Phase 2 participant)

Leave a Reply

