Words Reveal Our Relationship

I love prepositions, those little words that show the relationship between the words in a sentence. Some kids memorize the whole list of them, and others roll their eyes at the old explanation from teachers that you are not allowed to put one at the end of a sentence. They jump out at me in the Scriptures, and this morning I was reminded again of Christ’s love for us by three prepositions. We are in Christ. The preposition in demonstrates our relationship to Him. We walk in newness of life (Romans 6:4). Christ is in us, the hope of glory (Colossians 1:27). I have put off the old man (Ephesians 4:22) that I may put on the new self, created by God in true righteousness and holiness (Ephesians 4:24). I locate myself by being in Christ, I change who I am by taking off the old self, and I become something new by putting on the new self.

These prepositions are a declaration of where I am in time and space. Prepositions don’t get a lot of attention in writing class. They aren’t the grand adjectives that describe the beauty or power of a thought, but in many ways they put together the pieces of what is being communicated. And so it is with our lives. The difference in my life is best described by what locates me – a preposition! Because I am in I am free. Because I have taken off I am not cursed. And because of putting on I am new. So why can’t these glorious little words dangle at the end of a sentence? Maybe because showing location and being the location are two different things. I can’t just say I am in. The power of my thought isn’t finished until I complete the sentence. I am in Christ. I am right where I belong, just like a preposition.

Susan Kovaka
CTCI Staff

One thought on “Words Reveal Our Relationship”

Leave a Reply

