Idiots Are a Dime a Dozen…

In our ultra politically-correct societies, it’s becoming more and more the tendency to shy away from calling others – or ourselves – critical names. Anti-bullying campaigns abound, and a “don’t-judge-me” mentality is pervasive, especially in younger generations. But I have to say, one of the most freeing experiences in my own life is when I realized just how much of an idiot I really am.

Let me clarify by saying that I am not a proponent of taking on shame, wallowing in condemnation, accepting rejection or anything of the sort. God is very clear that this is not the identity that He wants us to hold on to. But in attempting to avoid any “negativity” in my own life, it was becoming difficult – if not impossible – to be completely honest about who I was and what was going on inside of me. It was like looking in a mirror and refusing to see the gigantic zits on my forehead (Sorry. Crude analogy.). But let’s face it. My anger management problem, for example, was not something that should have been swept under the rug and just forgotten.  It needed to be dealt with in a right way, not ignored or called “good” or passed off as a genetic trait.

So God came alongside me and showed me something really important. Actually, He did it (and is still doing it) in a very loving way. He stepped up to the mirror with me. He allowed me to see those troubled and wrong areas in my heart. And without condemnation said, “Idiots are a dime a dozen, and everyone gets a chance to be one – even you.”

Yes. I, even I, get a chance to participate in the great trek of dumb guys. I get to savor the taste of my own foot on a regular basis, and while I can’t say that the flavor is growing on me, I am much less afraid of admitting that the shoe often fits. Those zits are definitely there when I wake up in the morning (figuratively speaking), but God is showing me that He’s bigger and more capable than all of that, and that He will continue to work in my life and bring me into closer conformity to His Son Jesus.

So I can keep on going, realizing my mistakes, accepting God’s grace, trusting in His ability to transform me in His way and in His time, and enjoying the process entirely.

(For further reading on the subject of idiots, see  Romans 3-4.)

 

 

Leave a Reply

